Chapter 7 (The 5th and 6th Station of the Cross)

20210307_200030For the last two years, I have prayed, in a contemplative manner, the Stations of the Cross every morning. I have found that this act of prayer has clarified some things for me allowing me to rightly relate myself to that Higher Power I call God

Saint Catherine of Sienna had a vision in which she asked God “who are you?; who am I?” God responded, “I am that I am; and you my dear child is she who is not.”

The 5th Station – Simon of Cyrene, having come in from the field is pressed into service, carrying your cross. The church officials who had condemn you to die were afraid that you would die before being crucified. They wanted to fulfill the law and win favor with God. But God’s love is not transactional. God loves us because of who He is, not because of what we have done.

The 6th Station – Veronica, out of compassion, wipes your face.  Veronica who is not found in the Bible is someone that I relate to. According to the Catholics, she is the Patron Saint of laundry workers, including those of us that iron Clark’s shirts.

Related to this contemplation is the 7th step prayer: Dear God, my creator, I am now today willing for you to have all of me, good and bad. Please remove all character defects that inhibit my usefulness to you or others. Please give me the strength to do Thy will. Thy will not mine be done.

Leave a comment