Introduction

20140907_161007_resized

What makes me qualified to write about spiritual matters?

Very little, I am afraid to say.

I guess as a way of introduction, I will apologize for the way I tell a story, my story in this case. I don’t start at the beginning and go in a linear fashion, in fact I spend a lot of time talking about other people’s stories. Take the picture above, whenever I look at it, I think of God’s love for all of us. I hope the reader identifies with the characters in my life and sees God’s love in each of the Chapters.

The photo above was taken two days after my friend Paula had died and the day before her family were due to fly in to make the arrangements. After spending a week with them, I emailed them this picture along with my response to Paula’s Birthday Thank-you email.

Dear Phyllis,

Thank you so much for the wonderful card and for your gift.  I appreciate both.

You are aware of my conviction about your generosity: that you’ve already done way too much for me; obviously, this conviction of mine is meaningless when it comes to you just doing what you want to do for others, including me.

My fervent hope – my certain expectation – is that down the road, whenever necessary, somebody like you will be there for you.

Thank you very much.

love, Paula

My response:

What a nice thought. If you get to where we are going (some people call it heaven) before I do, maybe you can keep the door open for me.

Leave a comment