Chapter 5 (Bible Study and Family)

We meet via zoom on Wednesdays at noon for an hour long Bible Study. Currently we are in the first Chapter of Corinthians. I tend to keep my mute on so that the distractions of my work life don’t interrupt the study.  It was during one of these Bible Studies that Marie shared a very touching experience of walking down the street after her husband died and “hearing” music.  Listening to people share has helped lessen the grief of losing my dad.  I keep on reflecting on my early days of sobriety. When I told my dad I was an alcoholic and that I was joining a 12 step program , he had some difficulty with all of it. After some time processing, he pronounced that he was comfortable. I remember walking down the street with him and he turned and announced “you always wanted a family”

And yes I now have a very large family – I could not be more grateful.

Leave a comment